would have become aware of S’s presence sooner and been able to avoid
the collision.

Rule 18 did not apply because S and P were not required to leave the mark
on the same side (see rule 18.1).

When it became clear that P was not keeping clear, S was required by rule
14 to act to avoid contact with P (see rule 14(a)). Before the positions
shown in the diagram it became clear that the boats were on converging
courses and that P was not keeping clear. At that time S could have luffed
and avoided contact with P. Such a change of course by S would have
given P more room to keep clear and would not have broken rule 16.1. The
contact caused damage. Therefore, S broke rule 14 and, because the

contact caused damage, she must be penalized for having done so (see
rules 14(b) and 64.1).

P was correctly disqualified under rules 10 and 14. S is also disqualified,
for breaking rule 14.
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CASE 27

Rule 2, Fair Sailing

Rule 13, While Tacking

Rule 14, Avoiding Contact

Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way

A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will
break a rule. When a boat acquires right of way as a result
of her own actions, the other boat is entitled to room to
keep clear.

Facts

AS was clear ahead of BP when she reached the zone. Between position 1
and 2, AS, a hull length to leeward and a hull length ahead of BP, tacked
as soon as she reached the starboard-tack lay line. Almost immediately she
was hit and damaged by BP travelling at about ten knots. The protest
committee disqualified AS for breaking rule 15. It also disqualified BP
under rule 2, pointing out that she knew AS was going to tack but did
nothing to avoid a collision. BP appealed, asserting that she was not
obligated to anticipate an illegal tack.
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After AS reached the zone, BP was required by rule 12 to keep clear of her
and by rule 18.2(b) to give her mark-room. Both these obligations ended
when AS passed head to wind (see rules 18.1(a) and 18.2(d)). When AS
passed head to wind, BP became the right-of-way boat under rule 13 and
held right of way until AS assumed a close-hauled course on starboard
tack. At that moment AS, having just acquired right of way under rule 10,
was required by rule 15 to give BP room to keep clear.

AS1

Decision

The collision occurred almost immediately after AS assumed a close-
hauled course on starboard tack. Therefore, BP needed to take avoiding
action before AS had borne away to a close-hauled course. At that time BP
had right of way under rule 13, and so AS broke rule 13. AS also broke
rule 15 because, after she acquired right of way under rule 10, she did not
give BP room to keep clear. Finally, AS broke rule 14 because she could
have avoided the contact by turning back onto port tack after she passed
head to wind.

BP took no action to avoid the collision, but what could she have done?
Given her speed and the distance involved, she had perhaps one to two
seconds to decide what to do and then do it. It is a principle of the right-of-
way rules, as stated in rule 15, that a boat that becomes obligated to keep
clear by an action of another boat is entitled to sufficient time for response.
Also, while it was obvious that AS would eventually tack to round the
mark, no rule required BP to anticipate that AS would break a rule.



BP did break rule 10, but she is exonerated under either rule 64.1(a) or rule
21(a). BP did not break rule 14 because it was not reasonably possible for
her to have avoided the collision after AS broke rule 13. BP did not violate
any principle of sportsmanship or fair play and, therefore, did not break
rule 2.

BP’s appeal is upheld. She is to be reinstated. AS remains disqualified.
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CASE 28

Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course

Rule 32.1, Shortening or Abandoning After the Start
Rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
Rule AS, Scores Determined by the Race Committee

When one boat breaks a rule and, as a result, causes
another to touch a mark, the other boat is to be exonerated.
The fact that a starting mark has moved, for whatever
reason, does not relieve a boat of her obligation to start. A
race committee may abandon under rule 32.1(c) only when
the change in the mark’s position has directly affected the
safety or fairness of the competition.
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