CASE 26

Rule 14, Avoiding Contact

Rule 16.1, Changing Course

Rule 18.1, Mark-Room: When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 64.1, Decision: Penalties and Exoneration

A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it
Is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear. However, if
the right-of-way boat could then have avoided the collision
and the collision resulted in damage, she must be penalized
for breaking rule 14.

Facts

A Soling, S, and a 505, P, in separate races, approached the same mark on
opposite tacks. Unknown to P, which was lowering her spinnaker and



hardening up to leave the mark to port, S was required to leave it to
starboard and was preparing to do so.

P heard no hail and was unaware of S’s presence until the boats were in
the positions shown in the diagram, at which time P’s crew saw S. He
shouted a warning and leaped out of the way just as S’s bow struck P’s
hull behind the mast, causing damage.

P protested S under rule 14 on the grounds that S could have avoided the
collision. S and two witnesses testified that S did not at any time change
her course before the collision. S, protesting under rule 10, claimed that if
she had changed course she would have broken rule 16.1.

The protest committee disqualified P under rules 10 and 14. P appealed.
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Decision

P, as the keep-clear boat, failed to keep a lookout and to observe her
primary duties to keep clear and avoid contact. She broke both rule 10 and
rule 14. An important purpose of the rules of Part 2 is to avoid contact
between boats. All boats, whether or not holding right of way, should keep
a lookout, particularly when approaching a mark. If P had done so she



would have become aware of S’s presence sooner and been able to avoid
the collision.

Rule 18 did not apply because S and P were not required to leave the mark
on the same side (see rule 18.1).

When it became clear that P was not keeping clear, S was required by rule
14 to act to avoid contact with P (see rule 14(a)). Before the positions
shown in the diagram it became clear that the boats were on converging
courses and that P was not keeping clear. At that time S could have luffed
and avoided contact with P. Such a change of course by S would have
given P more room to keep clear and would not have broken rule 16.1. The
contact caused damage. Therefore, S broke rule 14 and, because the
contact caused damage, she must be penalized for having done so (see
rules 14(b) and 64.1).

P was correctly disqualified under rules 10 and 14. S is also disqualified,
for breaking rule 14.

GBR 1971/4




