so finishing, the committee exercised its discretion under rule 64.2 to
‘make as fair an arrangement as possible for all boats affected.’ It adjusted
the race scores according to the order in which all the boats crossed the
finishing line, without regard to the direction in which they crossed it.

X appealed against the new finishing order, claiming that the wording of
the definition Finish was unequivocal and stating that such an arrangement
would negate the definition and defeat its purpose, which, she believed,
was to prevent ‘hook round’ finishes.

Decision

X’s appeal is dismissed. Because the sailing instruction that conflicted
with the definition Finish was invalid, issuing it was an improper action of
the race committee that qualified the three boats for consideration for
redress under rule 62.1(a). None of the boats gained or lost as a result of
the race committee error, so the redress awarded was appropriate. It was

also as fair an arrangement as possible for all boats affected, as required by
rule 64.2.

GBR 1979/1

CASE 46

Definitions, Proper Course

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course

Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course

A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even
when she has established a leeward overlap from clear
astern and within two of her hull lengths of the windward
boat.



Finishing Line ;

Facts

For some time, W had been sailing almost dead downwind on a straight
course towards the starboard end of the finishing line when L, a boat that
had been clear astern, became overlapped within two of her hull lengths to
leeward of W. In the absence of W, L would have sailed a higher course
directly towards the line. In order to do so, she hailed W to come up. There
was no response. L hailed again and luffed to a position very close to W,
but W still did not respond. L stopped luffing and bore away just before
contact would have occurred. L protested under rule 11.

The protest committee held that there was insufficient evidence to show
that W would have finished sooner by sailing a higher course. It said that
even though there might be conflict between the courses of a windward
and a leeward boat, a boat overtaking another from clear astern did not
have the right to force a windward boat to sail above her proper course.
The protest was dismissed and L appealed, claiming the right to luff to her
proper course under rule 17.



Decision

Rule 11 says that when two boats on the same tack are overlapped the
windward boat shall keep clear. A leeward boat’s actions, however, are
limited by rules 16.1 and 17. There was room for W to keep clear when L
luffed, and so L did not break rule 16.1. The protest committee, although it
did not say so explicitly, recognized that L’s proper course was directly
towards the finishing line. A direct course to the line was not only closer
but would also have put L on a faster point of sailing. While L was not
entitled to sail above her proper course, she was entitled to luff to her
proper course, even though she had established the overlap from clear
astern while within two of her hull lengths of W. Accordingly, L did not
break rule 17.

W’s proper course is not relevant to the application of the rules to this
incident. She was required to keep clear of L. When L luffed, she gave W
room to keep clear as required by rule 16.1. At the moment L needed to
stop luffing and bear away to avoid contact, W broke rule 11. Therefore,
L’s appeal is upheld and W is disqualified for breaking rule 11.

USA 1979/224

CASE 47
Rule 2, Fair Sailing

A boat that deliberately hails ‘Starboard’ when she knows
she is on port tack has not acted fairly, and has broken rule

2.

Facts

An experienced helmsman of a port-tack boat hails ‘Starboard’ to a
beginner who, although on starboard tack, not being sure of himself and
probably being scared of having his boat holed, tacks to port to avoid a
collision. No protest is lodged.

One school of thought argues that it is fair game, because if a helmsman
does not know the rules, that is his own hard luck. The other school rejects
this argument, on the grounds that it is quite contrary to the spirit of the
rules to deceive a competitor in that way.

It is known that such a trick is often played, particularly when novices are
involved.



