Question
Does she break rule 42.1?

Answer

No. A boat begins racing at her preparatory signal. During the period in
which the boat was racing she was using wind as a source of power as
required by rule 42.1. Her motion also resulted from momentum created
by engine power that propelled her before she began racing. Nothing in the
rule requires that a boat be in any particular state of motion or non-motion
when she begins racing. Therefore rule 42.1 was not broken.

USA 1986/269

CASE 70

Definitions, Mark-Room

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped

Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule 21(a), Exoneration

An inside overlapped windward boat that is entitled to
mark-room from the outside boat must keep clear of the
outside boat and, if she is sailing outside of the mark-room
to which she is entitled, she is not exonerated if she fails to
keep clear.
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Facts

L and W, both about 14 feet (4 m) long, were sailing on starboard tack at
about 4 knots, approaching a windward mark to be left to starboard. The
direction of the course to the next mark was downwind. The boats were
overlapped with W, the inside boat, slightly ahead. W requested mark-
room and L replied, ‘Mark-room will be given when needed.’
Subsequently, when 20 feet (6 m) from the mark, the boats made contact
beam to beam. No damage or injury occurred. L protested W, alleging that
W broke rule 11.

The protest committee disqualified L for not giving W room to sail to the
mark after she asked for it. L appealed.

Decision

Before and at the time of the contact, rule 11 required W to keep clear of
L. While W was sailing to the mark, she broke rule 11 by sailing so close
to L that there was a need for L to take avoiding action. Under rule 18.2(b)
W was entitled to mark-room from L. W’s proper course was to sail close
to the mark, and so she was entitled to the space she needed in the existing
conditions to sail promptly to it in a seamanlike way. The diagram
accepted by the protest committee showed that, from the time W reached
the zone until contact occurred, L had given W room to sail to the mark,
but when W broke rule 11 she was not sailing within that room. For this
reason, W is not exonerated under rule 21(a) for breaking rule 11.

Both boats could easily have avoided the contact, and so both broke rule
14. However, the contact caused neither damage nor injury and, because L
was the right-of-way boat and W was entitled to mark-room, both boats
are exonerated for breaking rule 14 (see rule 14(b)).

L’s appeal is upheld. She is reinstated in her finishing place and W is
disqualified for breaking rule 11.
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