15 and 16.1. W could also be exonerated under rule 21(a) because at the
time she broke rule 11 she was sailing within the room to which she was
entitled under rules 15 and 16.1.

L became overlapped from clear astern within two of her hull lengths of
W, and so rule 17 prohibited L from sailing above her proper course. The
protest committee did not find facts as to whether or not L sailed above her
proper course after the overlap began. If she did, she broke rule 17.
However, nothing is to be gained by seeking the facts needed to resolve
this question because L would remain disqualified under rules 15 and 16.1.

The protest committee did not discuss rule 14. W did not break rule 14, as
it was not reasonably possible for her to avoid contact. L, however, did
break rule 14; the fact that she caused the contact showed that it was
possible for her to avoid it. She would have been subject to penalty for this
breach if there had been damage or injury to either boat. No facts were
found about damage or injury, but this issue need not be addressed since L
would remain disqualified under rules 15 and 16.1.

For the above reasons L’s appeal is denied.

USA 1998/76

CASE 94
Deleted

CASE 95

Definitions, Mark-Room

Definitions, Room

Rule 18.1(a), Mark-Room: When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule 18.3, Mark-Room: Tacking in the Zone

Rule 21(b), Exoneration

Rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration

If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to
windward and are subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to
apply when either of them turns past head to wind. When a



boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the space
she must give includes space for the other boat to comply
with rule 31. When the boat entitled to mark-room is
compelled to touch the mark while sailing within the mark-

room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.

Facts

Approaching the windward mark, Jagga and Freebird were overlapped on
port tack, Freebird being between one and two boat-lengths to leeward.
Freebird tacked and entered the zone on starboard tack. Jagga then tacked
into a position to windward of Freebird. Jagga luffed so that her swinging
stern required Freebird to change course to avoid contact, which she did,
touching the mark as a result. Freebird protested.

The protest committee disqualified Jagga under rule 18.3. Jagga appealed
on the grounds that, because she was an inside overlapped boat when she
entered the zone, she was entitled to room to pass the mark.

Decision

When Jagga reached the zone she was overlapped inside Freebird. From
that time until Freebird turned past head to wind, rule 18.2(b) required



Freebird to give Jagga mark-room. When Freebird turned past head to
wind, the boats were on opposite tacks on a beat to windward, and so rule
18 ceased to apply (see rule 18.1(a)). After Freebird completed her tack,
she had right of way under rule 10, but initially she was subject to rule 15.
She complied with that rule because Jagga had room to keep clear by
crossing ahead of her.

Between positions 2 and 3 Jagga passed head to wind and was then on the
same tack as Freebird. At that time Jagga was fetching the mark and
Freebird had been on starboard tack since entering the zone, so rule 18.3
began to apply. While rule 18.3 applied, rule 18.2 did not. However, a
short time later when Jagga completed her tack, Freebird was overlapped
inside her, and Jagga was required by rule 18.3 to give Freebird mark-
room.

After Jagga crossed ahead of Freebird, Freebird had right of way, first
under rule 10, then under rule 13 and finally under rule 11. Therefore,
Jagga had no protection from rule 15 during that time.

After position 3, rule 11 required Jagga to sail so that Freebird could ‘sail
her course with no need to take avoiding action’ (see the definition Keep
Clear). The fact that, when Jagga luffed, Freebird had to change course to
avoid contact was evidence that Jagga broke rule 11 by not keeping clear.
Also, when Jagga luffed she did not give Freebird space to sail to the
mark and comply with her obligation under rule 31. Therefore, Jagga
broke rule 18.3 (see also the definitions Mark-Room and Room).

The protest committee correctly disqualified Jagga under rule 18.3, but
she also broke rule 11. Freebird broke rule 31 when she touched the mark,
but she is exonerated under either rule 21(b) or rule 64.1(a). Jagga’s
appeal is dismissed.

GBR 2000/4

CASE 96
Rule 30.4, Starting Penalties: Black Flag Rule

When after a general recall a boat learns from seeing her
sail number displayed that she has been disqualified by the
race committee under the second sentence of rule 30.4 and
believes the race committee has made a mistake, her only
option is not to start, and then to seek redress. However, if



