
Answer to Scenario 1 – Room to Pass 

Boat L is penalized for breaking Rule 19.2(b), Giving Room to Pass at an Obstruction. With 

respect to X, both L and W are clear astern and are required to keep clear of her under Rule 12, 

On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped. X therefore ranks as an obstruction to both (see the 

definition Obstruction). L, as the right-of-way boat, has the option of luffing and passing X to 

windward, or of steering a course to pass X to leeward (see rule 19.2(a)). When L elects to pass 

to leeward, and is overlapped with W, rule 19.2(b) requires her to give room to W, as the inside 

boat, to do the same. Note that had L decided to pass X to windward, W would be required to 

keep clear under Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped; and as the outside boat, to give room 

under rule 19.2(b). 

(From Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, Quiz 29. Used with permission.) 

 

 

https://sailzing.com/rules-19-20/
https://sailzing.com/rule-12-on-the-same-tack-not-overlapped/
https://sailzing.com/rule-11-on-the-same-tack-overlapped/

