
Answer to Scenario 2 – Mark Room 1 

P’s protest is disallowed; neither boat broke a rule. While P is tacking within the zone, she does 

not cause S to take any avoiding action; so she does not break rule 13, While Tacking. After she 

passes head to wind she does not cause S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact; therefore 

P does not break rule 18.3, Tacking in the Zone. Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped, 

requires P to keep clear of S if S becomes overlapped to leeward of her. Rule 18.3 requires P to 

give S mark room if she becomes overlapped inside her at any time while the boats are passing 

the mark. By keeping clear of S and giving her mark-room, P complies with rules 11 and 18.3.  

(From Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, Quiz 33. Used with permission.) 

 

https://sailzing.com/rule-13-while-tacking/
https://sailzing.com/rule-18-mark-room2/
https://sailzing.com/rule-11-on-the-same-tack-overlapped/

