
Answer to Scenario 4 – Finishing Room 

Boat P is penalized for breaking rule 18.3, Tacking the Zone. As P and S are approaching the 

finishing mark on opposite tacks, rule 18, Mark Room, does not apply because the boats are on 

opposite tacks on a beat to windward. But once P tacks, the boats are no longer on opposite 

tacks and rule 18 begins to apply (see rule 18.1, When Rule 18 applies). When P and S are 

approaching a port-hand windward mark on the opposite tack and P then passes head to wind 

within the zone at the mark and is fetching the mark, rule 18.3 requires P to not cause S to sail 

above close-hauled to avoid contact. P causes S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact; 

therefore, she breaks rule 18.3 

(From Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, Quiz 37. Used with permission.) 
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