
Answer to Scenario 1 – Wind Shift 

Boat S is penalized under rule 16.1, Changing Course. Rule 16.1 states, "When a right-of-way boat 

changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear." S changes course when so close to P 

that P is unable to keep clear and there is contact. Therefore, S failed to give P room to keep clear, 

thereby breaking rule 16.1. The fact that S's change of course is in response to a windshift is not relevant 

to the application of rule 16.1.  

P breaks rule 10, On Opposite Tacks, but is exonerated (not penalized) under rule 21, Exoneration, or 

rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration, because she is compelled to break rule 10 by S's 

breach of rule 16.1. 

S also breaks rule 14, Avoiding Contact; but as the right-of-way boat, she is exonerated (not penalized) 

for breaking rule 14 as the contact does not cause damage or injury (see rule 14(6)). P does not break 

rule 14, because S changes course so close to P that it is not possible for P to avoid the contact. 

(From Dave Perry’s 100 Best Rules Quizzes, Quiz 6. Used with permission.) 


