
Answer to Scenario 2 – U Flag 

The race committee acts improperly when it scores Boat X DSQ. Rule 30.3, U Flag Rule, states that a boat 

shall not be disqualified under this rule if the race is restarted (see also rule 36, Races Restarted or 

Resailed). Therefore, Boat X is entitled to redress, under rule 62.1(a), Redress; and it would be 

reasonable to reinstate her in her finishing position in the race and move the other boats down 

accordingly (see rule 64.2, Decisions on Redress). Furthermore, the protest committee can call a 

hearing, under rule 60.3(b), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or Rule 69 Action, to consider 

redress for any other boats that were improperly scored DSQ by the race committee. 
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