
Answer to Scenario 1 – Mark Room Given? 

Boat A is penalized under rules 10, On Opposite Tacks, and 14, Avoiding Contact. Boat B breaks no rules.  

When A reaches the zone clear ahead, she is entitled to mark-room from B under rule 18.2(b), Giving 

Mark-Room, until she has been given that mark-room (see rule 18.2(d)). Mark-room is the space A 

needs to sail to the mark, leave it on the required side, and round it as necessary to sail the course (see 

the definition Mark-Room). Once A has borne away to her downwind sailing angle on starboard tack and 

has the space needed to leave the mark to port, she has been given mark-room and rules 18.2(b) and 

18.2(c) cease to apply (see rule 18.2(d)). From that point forward, A will not be exonerated under rule 

21, Exoneration, if she breaks any rules. When A continues bearing away and then gybes, she breaks rule 

10. 

Before A rounds the mark, B is required to keep clear of A under rule 12, On the Same Tack, Not 

Overlapped, and to give her mark-room under rule 18.2(b). She complies with those obligations. When B 

becomes overlapped with A, A is already on her downwind course and has the space she needs to leave 

the mark to port; therefore she has been given mark-room, and she is not entitled to room to also sail 

her proper course under rule 18.2(c)(2) (see rule 18.2(d)). When B becomes overlapped with A, she 

instantly becomes the right-of-way boat under rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped. But because she 

becomes overlapped due to A's action of bearing away, B does not need to give A room to keep clear 

under rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way. Also, B is not permitted to sail above her proper course, under 

rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course, and she does not. 

Both boats are required by rule 14, Avoiding Contact, to avoid contact if reasonably possible. A clearly 

breaks rule 14, and because the contact causes damage she is penalized for breaking that rule. The 

interval of time from when A gybes until contact is so short that by the time it becomes clear to B that A 

is not keeping clear, it is not reasonably possible for B to avoid contact, and so she does not break rule 

14 (see rule 14(a)). 

(From Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, Quiz 40. Used with permission) 
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